Ho99o9 Releases New Digital EP “Cyber Warfare [error]”

Last month, Ho99o9 released a brand new digital EP titled “Cyber Warfare [error].” It’s seven tracks of 8-bit(ish) sounding horror metal mindfuckery!

Check out the tracklist:

  1. Master Of Pain [error]
  2. Plexiglass [error]
  3. ShadowRUN [error]
  4. Yellow Tape [error]
  5. Simon Phoenix [error] feat. JPEGMAFIA
  6. WiFi Punx [error]
  7. F.O.G. [error]

You can check that out that entire EP on iTunes right now by CLICKING HERE, Soundcloud by CLICKING HERE or check that out on Spotify below.

AfroPunk.com has posted an article where they do a track-by-track run-down of the EP. It’s pretty dope. You can check out that entire article by CLICKING HERE or check that out below.

Props to Nathan Leigh.


Pretty much since the mainstream-DIY-raiding of the ’90s, punk has often been locked in a weird reactionary paradox. Bands whose politics are as forward-thinking and radical as possible are judged by how closely their aesthetics resemble ’80s scene stalwarts. (“I’m sorry, the third pin from the left on your denim jacket is neither punk enough nor ironic enough to pass inspection. We’ve refunded your $5 admission. Come back when you can recite all the Crass albums both chronologically and alphabetically.”) And while I fully admit that if you tell me a band sounds like “Minor Threat mixed with …” I will buy that 7″ without asking a followup question, there’s something exhausting about the whole thing. What the fuck are we playing at? The fact that they don’t just not care, but that they thrive on confronting that reactionary bullshit is the venom that makes Ho99o9’s music so powerful. Their latest EP, Cyber Warfare feels like a brick to the punk “establishment.” It’s thrilling, visceral, ugly, confrontational, and absolutely bullshit-free.

Leading off with the thrash-tinged “Master of Pain,” Ho99o9 takes everything that worked about their single with Ghosthemane earlier this year and turns it up a notch. It jumps from a Crypt Keeper sample into an epic speed metal riff that gradually devolves into feedback-looped chaos, reemerging in a massive self-destructing breakdown. Over it’s 5 -minute runtime, the song is like a thesis statement for the record, sowing the seeds of the all-killer-no-filler 2-minute cuts that follow.

“Plexiglass” plays up the industrial hip-hop vibe with its apocalyptic musings: “When you pray for rain / You get mud.” “Shadowrun” takes a distorted riff over a lightspeed hardcore beat before they switch gear for the 808-led “Yellow Tape.” It’s a song that draws a straight line from punk police to police violence: “Fuck all your leaders and your rules / Bodybag for your whole crew plus you and / Momma said a dead cop’s a good cop / And a good cop’s a dead cop.”

Unsurprisingly, the collab with JPEGMAFIA is pure gold. “Simon Phoenix” turns down the volume, but doesn’t lose an ounce of the intensity, with Peggy, theOGM and Yeti Bones each trying to one-up each other in sheer nihilism. Closing pair “WiFi Punx” and “F.O.G.” are a straight-up invitation to the pit. The sweat-drenched closer taunts critics with the reminder “you’ll never be like me.” Industrial guitars twist and mutate as the drums pummel harder, screams of “Flesh! Of God!” distort into nothing, and the whole thing is enveloped in feedback. Ho99o9 may have constructed the perfect set-closer with “F.O.G.”

Check them out next week at AFROPUNK Fest in Brooklyn.

from Faygoluvers https://ift.tt/30V4oEW


Video Games Movies / Film Music Nerd News Nerd Star Trek Trailers DC Comics Sci-Fi Television / TV Comic Books Movie News DC Cinematic Universe Movie Trailers News Comedy / Humor TV News Nintendo Wii Batman Technology Batman v Superman Superman Celebrities Music Videos Comic Strips Syko.org TV Promos Wonder Woman Animation Marvel Comics Social Media Sports Arizona / AZ Stargate Superbowl Football Linkin Park Man of Steel Science Suicide Squad Xbox 360 DC Films Editorials Government Nintendo DS Box Office Comic Book News DC Television Universe Green Lantern Harley Quinn Microsoft Rock News Suns Twitter Videos Basketball Blogosphere Business DC Extended Universe Daily Deals Food / Beverage Marijuana Marvel Cinematic Universe PlayStation 3 Spider-man Staff News Super Bowl 50 The Joker Video of the Day Warner Bros. Web Development Wonder Woman Angry Birds Apple Aquaman Archie Comics Auctions Batgirl Birds of Prey Bizzaro Bizzaro Girl Bluetooth Books Bryan Fuller C4MULA CBS California California / CA Cartoons Chester Bennington Crime Customization DC Entertainment DC TV Dead by Sunrise Deaths Deep Space Nine Ebay Email Facebook Fanmade Features Federation Financial Florida / FL Fringe Gmail Google+ Greg Berlanti Hawkman Health Japan Julien-K Literature Luxury Martian Manhunter Mobile / Wireless Multiplayer Multitouch Music News NSFW Nevada / NV Nintendo 3DS No Warning Operating Systems Orgy PSN Papa Roach Pete's Dragon Press Releases Rap Music Reviews Rockstar Seth Macfarlane Software Software Update Sony Star Trek Beyond Streaming Media Supergirl Syko Sam SykoDeals SykoPoetry Tech News The Avengers The CW The Flash The Flintstones Themes Transportation Trekkers Trekkies Trekspertise United Family Music Voyager Walmart Warehouse 13 Website Tools Windows Windows 10 Windows Media Xbox Live iMac